Deadlines

Important information about priority (preferred) deadlines and final (enforced) deadlines can be found below. Please carefully review the sections!

Early Decision Discontinued

Early decision is no longer offered as an option in PharmCAS. Applicants are encouraged to apply to their designated Pharm.D. degree programs early in the admissions cycle. Some colleges or schools of pharmacy have priority deadlines or give preference to applicants who apply earlier in the cycle.

Priority (Preferred) Deadlines

Pharmacy schools may choose to set a priority deadline to encourage applicants to apply earlier in the admissions cycle. Priority deadlines are non-binding. You may apply to one or more schools with a priority deadline or apply to a school after the priority deadline has passed (and before the final [enforced] deadline has passed). Visit the PharmCAS School Directory to determine whether the school has any requirements or incentives for applicants who apply by the priority deadline. PharmCAS will not determine whether you met a school’s priority deadline requirements, nor distinguish between regular and priority applications in processing. If you miss a priority deadline and wish to still be considered for any school-specific incentives associated with a priority deadline, contact the school directly.

PharmCAS Priority Application Deadline Date Options for 2021-2022

PharmCAS encourages applicants to submit all materials early and before the early decision deadline to allow for any unexpected issues. PharmCAS cannot extend the early decision deadline for any applicants or schools.

  • October 1, 2021 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • November 1, 2021 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • December 1, 2021 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • January 4, 2022 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • February 1, 2022 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • March 1, 2022 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • April 1, 2022 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)
  • May 2, 2022 (11:59 pm Hawaii Time)

Final (Enforced) Deadlines

Apply Early! Participating PharmCAS programs encourage applicants to submit applications at least two weeks before their school application deadlines to avoid congestion due to heavy applicant and Internet traffic.

PharmCAS processing may take up to two weeks, once all required materials are received. Submit your PharmCAS application and arrange for materials to arrive at PharmCAS by the program's deadline. The deadline indicates when materials must arrive at PharmCAS (and not the program). Programs may have multiple deadline dates or operate on a rolling admissions basis. Visit the PharmCAS School Directory for details.

Application Close Time

All PharmCAS deadlines expire at 11:59 pm Hawaii Time (HT). Review the time zones to determine when the application will close in your area:

  • 11:59 pm (HT)
  • 1:59 am (AKT)
  • 2:59 am (PT)
  • 3:59 am (MT)
  • 4:59 am (CT)
  • 5:59 am (ET) 

Program Deadlines

To determine the application deadline for schools you are interested in applying to, please refer to the PharmCAS School Directory. Below are the PharmCAS deadline date options for programs in the 2021-2022 cycle:

  • November 1, 2021 
  • December 1, 2021 
  • January 4, 2022 
  • February 1, 2022 
  • March 1, 2022 
  • April 1, 2022 
  • May 2, 2022 
  • June 1, 2022   

Late Materials and Missed Deadlines

A program may deny your application if your transcripts or other materials arrive late. If you submit your application by the program’s deadline, PharmCAS will release your application to your selected programs, even if your materials arrive after the deadline. PharmCAS is not responsible for any materials lost in the mail or for delays caused by the registrar's office. Express or certified mail does not guarantee expedient processing, nor does sending transcripts express or certified mail guarantee receipt by PharmCAS. 

Deadline Extensions

Contact the program directly to request a deadline extension. Programs are not obligated to grant deadline extensions or give consideration to applicants who submit late application materials. You have 48-hours to complete and submit your PharmCAS application once the deadline extension is granted. If you fail to e-submit your application in that time, you must contact the program directly to request a second 48-hour deadline extension. Programs are not obligated to grant deadline extensions or give consideration to applicants who submit application materials after the school application deadline.